LAIKA
Type has always been something static.
In considering type we speak, for example, in terms of bold, thin, grotesque, classical, roman, italic: terms that all describe a defined variant of the font family. Thus we only ever see individual fixed points in what is actually an infinitely wide space of possibilities.

With digitalisation, however, typeface has left its manifest image – cast in lead – behind, and with it all the associated limitations. Computer-based applications, the Internet and new, fluid advertising media allow us to go beyond the existing, static view of typography.

LAIKA is neither bold nor thin, but swings between these two extremes. Its form is no longer defined statically, but alters dynamically. As well as the font’s weight, the stroke contrast, serif lengths and italic angles of the font all behave dynamically too. All these parameters can be driven and influenced by a range of inputs, in order to create a typeface that changes constantly in real time.

LAIKA requires a whole new, dynamic understanding of typography.

Why should a typeface be rigidly set, if it is not going to be printed? In a dynamic medium, why shouldn’t the form and the character of the typeface be understood dynamically as well? Why shouldn’t its forms change, transform, and respond to circumstances?

Prototypical applications show their potential in combination with interactive, audiovisual inputs, data requested from the Internet in real-time (RSS feeds), and electronic components such as sensors or simple switches. In this way, an advertising text could react to passers-by, stock market prices could influence a corporate typeface, or ECG measurements taken while writing could breathe new emotional life into digital love letters.

With LAIKA, there is finally a font that can seamlessly use the whole spectrum of its cuts. A font that is able to move between its extremes in real time. An interactive font that is able to respond to its surroundings. A font that questions deadlocked dogmas and throws up completely new design questions, and thus has the potential to revolutionise the understanding of digital typography.

LAIKA "Roman" and LAIKA "as-heavy-as-you-are"



LAIKA interacting with passers-by.

LAIKA,responsive to stock exchange quotations



LAIKA can be responsive to any inputs you could imagine. Here it is responsive to the circadian rhythm of a geranium

LAIKA
Schrift ist seit jeher etwas Statisches.
Im Umgang mit Schrift sprechen wir zum Beispiel von fett, mager, grotesk, klassizistisch, römisch, kursiv. Begriffe, die alle eine fix definierte Variante der Schrift beschreiben. So sehen wir immer nur einzelne Fixpunkte in einem eigentlich unendlich weiten Raum an Möglichkeiten.

Doch mit der Digitalisierung hat die Schrift ihr manifestes – in Blei gegossenes – Ebenbild und gleichzeitig auch alle damit verbundenen Beschränkungen hinter sich gelassen. Computergestützte Anwendungen, das Internet und neue, liquide Anzeigemedien liessen weitaus mehr zu als die bestehende, statische Auffassung von Typografie.

Laika ist nicht fett oder mager, sondern pendelt zwischen diesen zwei Extrema. Ihre Form ist nicht mehr statisch definiert, sie verändert sich dynamisch. Ebenso wie das Gewicht verhalten sich Strichkontrast, Serifenlänge und Neigungswinkel der Schrift. Alle diese Parameter lassen sich über eine Reihe von Inputs ansteuern und beeinflussen, um ein Schriftbild zu erzeugen, das sich in Echtzeit stetig wandelt.

Laika setzt ein völlig neues, dynamisches Verständnis von Typografie voraus.

Wieso soll Schrift starr gesetzt werden, wenn sie nicht gedruckt wird? Wieso soll in einem dynamischen Medium nicht auch die Form und der Charakter der Schrift dynamisch verstanden werden? Wieso soll sie ihre Formen nicht ändern, wandeln und den Umständen anpassen?

Erste prototypische Anwendungen zeigen das Potential in der Kombination mit interaktiven, audiovisuellen Inputs, in Echtzeit abgefragten Daten aus dem Internet (RSS Feeds) und elektronischen Komponenten wie Sensoren oder einfachen Schaltungen. So könnte ein Werbetext auf Passanten reagieren, Börsenkurse könnten die Hausschrift beeinflussen oder Ekg Messungen während des Schreibens könnten digitalen Liebesbriefen wieder eine emotionale Komponente einhauchen.

Mit Laika existiert endlich eine Schrift, die das ganze Spektrum ihrer Schnitte stufenlos nutzt und sich in Echtzeit zwischen ihren Extrema bewegt. Eine interaktive Schrift, die auf ihre Umgebung reagiert. Eine Schrift, die festgefahrene Dogmen hinterfragt und gänzlich neue gestalterische Fragen aufwirft und damit durchaus das Potential hat, das Verständnis digitaler Typografie zu revolutionieren.

LAIKA "Roman" und LAIKA "as-heavy-as-you-are"



LAIKA reagiert auf Passanten

LAIKA reagiert auf Börsenkurse



LAIKA lässt sich mit beliebigen Inputs steuern. Hier bestimmt der Biorhythmus einer Geranie das aussehen der Schrift.